Condors part of new 7-team AHL Pacific Division



SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league’s Board of Governors, convening for its Spring Meeting today in Chicago, Ill., has approved the following division alignment for the 2015-16 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliates in parentheses):

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division

Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)

Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR)

Hershey Bears (WSH)

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (PHI)

Portland Pirates (FLA)

Providence Bruins (BOS)

Springfield Falcons (ARI)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

North Division

Albany Devils (NJ)

Binghamton Senators (OTT)

Rochester Americans (BUF)

St. John’s IceCaps (MTL)

Syracuse Crunch (TB)

Toronto Marlies (TOR)

Utica Comets (VAN)

Western Conference

Central Division

Charlotte Checkers (CAR)

Chicago Wolves (STL)

Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)

Iowa Wild (MIN)

Lake Erie Monsters (CBJ)

Manitoba Moose (WPG)

Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)

Rockford IceHogs (CHI)

Pacific Division

Bakersfield Condors (EDM)

Ontario Reign (LA)

San Antonio Rampage (COL)

San Diego Gulls (ANA)

San Jose Barracuda (SJ)

Stockton Heat (CGY)

Texas Stars (DAL)

The format for the 2016 Calder Cup Playoffs will be finalized by the Board of Governors at its Annual Meeting in Hilton Head Island, S.C., July 6-9, and the complete playing schedule for the 2015-16 regular season, which begins Oct. 9, will be announced later this summer.

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and for the 14th year in a row, more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America in 2014-15.