Comments: Last Saturday night against Alaska it was the first time in over 30 years of playing, watching and even refereeing hockey I saw 3 minute penalty put on the board. An Alaska player took a 5 minute major penalty for boarding, followed by a Condor taking a 2 minute minor for roughing. I expecyed to see the teams skate 4 on 4 for two minutes then the Condors player would come out of the box, and the Condors would then have 3 minute power play where they could score as many goals as they could because it was a major. But at the game they just put the difference of 3 minutes up. Was there a rule change? Was it because it happened with less than 5 minutes left in regulation? Did Alaska have a choice on how to serve it?
Reply: It’s because it happened with less than 5 minutes left in regulation. To our recollection, this is only the second time we’ve ever seen that happen in a game at Rabobank Arena. It does look a little odd seeing 3:00 up on the board for a penalty, but it’s intended to give the non-offending team the opportunity to utilize their power play in regulation. It only happens when a major penalty is involved, and it only happens if it’s the third period. The offending player still has to serve his full five minutes.
-The Mailbag Guy